2021-22 IJA Committee Co-Chairs and Officer Liaisons

50th Anniversary of IJA
Arnold Blockman
J. Imani Drew
Liaison: Barbara Crowder

Budget and Finance
Develops annual budget for presentation to the Board at mid-year meeting and maintains a long-term financial plan.
Naomi H. Schuster
Patricia O'Brien Sheahan

Liaison: David Overstreet & Patrice Ball Reed

Community Engagement
Promotes public knowledge of the role and functioning of the judiciary, civics, and the administration of justice, develops community engagement activities that enhance respect for judges; works with court partners, the bar, and with all judges to create a better community, appropriately utilizing all available media.
Paul Marchese 
John O'Gara

Liaison: Elizabeth Rochford

Court & Family Security
Analyzes physical and security make up of courthouses and assists and educates members with on-line privacy and personal security. 
Michael Chmiel
E. Kenneth Wright
Liaison: Patrice Ball Reed

Educational Programming & Annual Meeting
Plans and presents educational programs and at the annual meeting in December. Also, oversees annual luncheon.
Patrice Ball Reed
Mary Cay Marubio
Liaison: Barbara Crowder

The Gavel
Publishes The Gavel, the official publication of the Illinois Judges Association. 
Editors:  Celia Gamrath & Amy McFarland
Liaisons: Elizabeth Rochford 

Government Affairs
Monitors actions and proposed actions of the legislative and executive branches on matters of import to the judiciary.
James E. Snyder
Sarah Smith
Mark VandeWiele
Liaison: Patrice Ball Reed

IJA Wellness
Promote health and well being throughout the judiciary
Cathy Schneider
Stephanie Miller
Liaisons: Mary Colleen Roberts

In-School Programs
Facilitates getting judges into schools to present 7 Reasons to Leave the Party, our award-winning program on drug and alcohol prevention; Courtroom in the Classroom, a civics presentation on the judicial process; Page It Forward, which encourages reading; Worries of the World Wide Web, that explores the serious dangers of the Internet, social media, apps and cellphones and Your Future, Your Choice an interactive program explaining our justice system.
Melissa Durkin
Patricia O'Brien Sheahan
Liaison: Eileen O’Neill Burke
Sub-Committees re Programming
Mary Schostok & Dinah Archambeault, Co-Chairs Page It Forward
Mark Drummond, Chair 7 Reasons to Leave the Party
Courtroom in the Classroom
Rene Cruz Worries of the World Wide Web
Tiana Blakely Your Future, Your Choice

Judicial Selection and Retention
Monitors judicial election and retention and investigates and addresses, within ethical limitations, problems.
Cecilia Horan
Bobbi Petrungaro
Liaison: Elizabeth Rochford

Maintains and increases membership, recommends programs and benefits to enhance the value of IJA to judges in Illinois. 
Diann Marsalek
Michael McCuskey

Liaison: David Overstreet

Pension and Employment Benefits
Monitors legislative, executive, and judicial branch action involving compensation, insurance, pensions, etc.
Mark VandeWiele
Michael Otto
Liaison: Eileen O'Neill Burke

Pro Bono
Thomas Kilbride
Julie Katz

Liaison: Barbara Crowder

Public Affairs & Media Response
Monitors and arranges responses to unjust public criticism of the judiciary.
Robert Anderson
Dan Jasica
Liaison: Mary Colleen Roberts

Retired Judges
Engages retired judges, monitors governmental actions, assists retirees with retirement benefits, and presents CLE seminars.
Donald Bernardi
Fred Foreman
Steve Pacey
Liaison: Mary Colleen Roberts

The Illinois Judges Association United States Supreme Court Jurisprudence Study Group
This committee over the next months will stimulate and engage membership, delivering the history of the function of the United States Chief Justice, the historical development and value of dissents, and reenactments of Supreme Court landmark cases.  To participate in this committee, plesae contact Judge Willam Hooks or the IJA at [email protected]
William Hooks
Michael Hyman
Liaison: Eileen O'Neill Burke

Travel and Member Benefits
Plans trips of interest to members, as well as identify member-benefit programs.
Deborah Gubin
Liaison:  David Overstreet

If you would like to join a committee, please JOIN NOW or contact Kathy Hosty at [email protected] or 312/431-1283.